Big Brother Is Watching You…

The book 1984 by George Orwell has brought my level of curiosity to an all time high. The dystopian world that Orwell has created is fascinating to read about and he describes it with such vivid detail and imagery right off the bat. With each sentence that he writes, I am able to truly picture each scene and feel like I am apart of this mysterious, cold, and strange world, which makes me even more intrigued to read on. The darkness surrounding the story so far keeps me on edge, and some of the sentences that Orwell writes have even given me chills.

Although I am intrigued so far, the story has a bit of a slow start, and still hasn’t picked up the pace. I wish that Orwell gave more background on the main character because it’s been hard for me to form any sort of connection with him by just listening to what he is doing. I have so many questions lingering in the back of my head about why he lives alone, if he has any family, and what he does for a living. I’m hoping that these questions get answered as I read on so I can get a better idea as to who the main character truly is and what his motives are. I’m looking forward to seeing where the story goes!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Big Brother Is Watching You…

  1. saranm2020 says:

    The book I am reading, Lost In Yonkers, has a similar approach where the author never truly allows the readers to connect with its characters and I am waiting to read a moment where I am able to. It seems that our books are alike in that manner, but yours seems to be significantly more interesting as it is revolved around a dystopian theme and I have always been keen of those kinds of books! I love that you are able to picture yourself within the authors writings through his imagery and truly envelope yourself within the book and are able to describe that feeling so vividly. I hope you and I will soon connect with our books on a deeper level and I am also intrigued to pick up George Orwell’s book for myself to read as well!

  2. chrisjk1738 says:

    Since I am reading 1984 I totally relate to you. I am drawn in by the mysterious nature of the story however I wish that I was given more background and answers for the beginning. This start was possibly intentional to get the reader’s thinking about the true meaning of the story without clouding their judgement by telling them the meanings of the story. The problem in this book between no privacy and the people is very scary and overwhelming. To not be able to think independently sounds like a very boring society. Do you think Winston will give in to society or will he maintain his independence or what is left of it? I guess we will see.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *